Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Livebearers (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/livebearers/)
-   -   Molly Surprise! (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/livebearers/molly-surprise-22327/)

Greener 03-21-2009 11:09 AM

Molly Surprise!

So i went to the pet store last night and got 2 black mollies and 2 xray tetras and i woke this morning and SURPRISE my mollies had 3 babies lol. im completely new to fish and a little worried that they will die. i have them in a 20 gal tank with my crowntail betta and 2 tetras the betta chases the mollies around but can never catch them. What should i know/do about haveing these babies i want to keep them becuz i love black mollies they look awesome and the more the merrier. Also how can u tell the difference in the sex of the mollies

lowco1 03-21-2009 12:31 PM

1 Attachment(s)
To tell the gender of your mollies you have to look at the anal fin if it is triangle shaped it is a female but if it is pointy and kind of like a small rod it is a male and as for keeping the babies I would say that if you have a breeding couple of mollies I would just leave the babies and let the strong survive because a breeding couple of mollies are worse than jack rabbits. I have well over 50 babies right now because of my mollies and I dont know what to do with them all yet.

Greener 03-21-2009 12:36 PM

Thanks for that i do have one male and one female (Bonnie and Clyde) How long does giving birth take? The female hides in a small gap between my filter and wall im guessing that means shes trying to plop out another one lol. im up to about 5 now but read that they can have up to 40 fry.:shock::shock:

dramaqueen 03-21-2009 01:01 PM

Your betta will probably eat the fry if he can catch them.

lowco1 03-21-2009 01:13 PM