Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Livebearers (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/livebearers/)
-   -   Hey there- I'm new! *waves* Also- Pregnant Molly? (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/livebearers/hey-there-im-new-waves-also-223249/)

Barefeetnbluejeans 07-09-2013 09:02 PM

Hey there- I'm new! *waves* Also- Pregnant Molly?

Hey y'all!
Let me start by introducing myself, my name is Brie. I developed a love of the fishies a few years ago when I worked at a pet store (Now I'm a daycare teacher... yay for a big girl job!). I've kept Betta's for years but recently decided to make the leap to a 20g (meager for some, I know, but gimmie a break here, I'm new). Last week, I set up the tank and today I've filled it with several dalmation, black and silver mollies and two very small plecos (Don't worry, I know how big they get and I have a buddy whose been keeping fish for years and has a lot of BIG tanks. He says once mine grow out of this tank, he'll take them).

Now for the problem- I noticed two of the female mollies (one marble, one black) look quite big, especially the black one, so I went back out to the store and bought a net breeder. The problem is, as I'm at work all day, I can't sit there and stare at her waiting for her to pop. So at what point should I put her in the breeder? I have no way of knowing when she got knocked up, so it could be another week for all I know. Is it better to wait until I come home one evening (or wake up one morning) to find that she's deflated and put whatever little buggers survive into the breeder then?

Austin 07-12-2013 06:35 AM

Welcome to TFK! :)