Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Freshwater Aquarium (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/)
-   -   10gallon freshwater tank ideas?? (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/10gallon-freshwater-tank-ideas-222385/)

volco 07-08-2013 06:06 PM

10gallon freshwater tank ideas??

Hello everyone, I am new to this website. I stopped liked the looks of it and the community and thought I would join :D I currently have a 16 gallon tank (not in use atm) and will be getting a 10 gallon tank ready to go from a friend. I was very lucky to have 2 friends that can both give me tanks. Now the reason I have 2 tanks is because I will be going off to college and will be taking the 10 gallon with me. I had fish as a kid but I am still new to this completely. I am wondering if anyone can recommend some good fish for a beginner with a 10 gallon tank?? I like the dwarf puffers but I am not sure that would be a good fish for beginners. I like the more "weird" or "exotic" fish but understand that may not be the best idea since I am new. So any suggestions are welcome.

Thank You!!!
Volco

Convict Ciclid 07-08-2013 06:46 PM

try some ciclids those are pretty cool fish just dont overcrowd ur tank get a couple only

volco 07-08-2013 06:57 PM

Can I put Cichlids in a 10 gallon tank? I know some of them get pretty big, or is there perhaps a specific kind of cichlid that would stay small enough for a 10 gallon?

Byron 07-08-2013 07:35 PM

Welcome to Tropical Fish Keeping forum.