Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Freshwater Aquarium Equipment (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/freshwater-aquarium-equipment/)
-   -   which gravel vac? (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/freshwater-aquarium-equipment/gravel-vac-2201/)

hjkaga 12-31-2006 01:13 PM

which gravel vac?
 
What is the best kind of gravel vac to use? I am still considering using sand as a substrate instead of gravel...so if that makes any difference as to which one would be better let me know. I don't want something that is going to cost a lot either. Thanks.

Brandon 12-31-2006 01:38 PM

If you deside to get sand i dont think you can use a gravel vac, i think you just change the water.

GeraldFrye 12-31-2006 01:39 PM

I can't imagine there being much difference in gravel vacs. It's just a suction device. I guess there only difference is the head and the size (which is a matter of preference).

Lauri 12-31-2006 01:47 PM

There isnt much of a difference really you can get ones that hook right up to your faucet which is much easier than running back and forth with buckets. We purchased ours at our lfs prices will vary on location of course and how much hose you need. I have used ours on gravel and sand the trick with sand is just hovering the end over the layer of sand just enough to suck up the stuff on top. If you dig the end into the sand as you would gravel you will pick up sand in your hose.

Best of luck :)

hjkaga 12-31-2006 02:02 PM

what size tube would i need for a 29 gal tank?

Lauri 12-31-2006 02:11 PM

Personal preference really, mine is 3inch in diameter. I use it on all our tanks from 10gallons up to my 55gallons.

hjkaga 12-31-2006 02:16 PM

thanks.

crazie.eddie 12-31-2006 02:27 PM

A Python No-Spill is awesome! You can drain and fill the your tanks quickly and easily without spilling any water.

joeshmoe 12-31-2006 03:36 PM

5stars for python

crazie.eddie 12-31-2006 05:31 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by hjkaga
what size tube would i need for a 29 gal tank?

If you go with a Python No-Spill, the standard tube that comes with is sufficient. I use it on various tanks sizes (10, 20 Long, 20 regular, 29, 37, 38, 55, and 125).


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:19 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2