Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Freshwater and Tropical Fish (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/freshwater-tropical-fish/)
-   -   Freshwater Newbie Questions... (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/freshwater-tropical-fish/freshwater-newbie-questions-21965/)

wmoyer2006 03-07-2009 09:39 PM

Freshwater Newbie Questions...

Hello everyone. :) Just wanna say that I'm a pretty big newbie and I have some really, probably silly questions.

I recently purchased a 10 gallon tank and have had it set up for about two months now. I have been considering upgrading to a larger tank (probably keep the smaller one for something, not sure what...) Everything seems to be working out well however I still believe that I am not educated to a degree in which I should be before I purchase a larger tank.

Questions!

1.) Is my tank overpopulated? I've heard a few mixed messages so I just want to be sure. 10 gallon and it's inhabitants are:

(1) Angel Fish
(2) Black Tetras
(2) Bloodfin Tetras
(2) Red Eye Tetras
(1) Platy

2.) I'm aware that the filter that I am using is probably junk. It is an Aqueon Power Filter (10) Model CA10. It came in a "starter kit" with aquarium, thermometer and etc. What kind of filter should I consider using for a 55 gallon Freshwater tank?

3.) I haven't tested my water at all, which I am ashamed to admit but also proud to say that I haven't lost any fish. For a 55 gallon tank that I am considering purchasing, what kind of test(s) should I purchase and use regularly and during the infamous cycle phase?

4.) Is one completely submersable heater enough for 55 gallons?