Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Saltwater Aquariums (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-saltwater-aquariums/)
-   -   need help setting up my tank.... (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-saltwater-aquariums/need-help-setting-up-my-tank-21841/)

jeff20578 03-03-2009 04:34 PM

need help setting up my tank....

ok, im a really rookie when it comes to setting up a salt tank and want to do it correctly!

I have purchased or have:

55g tank

60lb of bio-activ aragonite

cascade 700 filter

2 heaters

plenty of salt

I cant seem to find definate answers to the order and waiting time...

I assume i add the salt first and get that to the corect gravity? (how long should i wait til this is correct?)

then i add my bio-active? Do i rinse off the sand first or just open the bag and add ll the juices?

At what point do i turn on my filter? when i add the salt and then turn it off when i add the sand so i dosent get clogged with all the debre?

and as far as lightiig - i have bought 2 118" - 15 watt reef sun 50/50 bulbs. I was tol that i needed to remvove the plastic inbetween the bulb and the water so its more direct (is this correct)?

Im sure I'll have a million more questions and this site will be my new home page:lol:

thanks for any advice

Kellsindell 03-04-2009 12:15 AM

You have a 118in light fixture? that's huge for a 55g

Welcom to the forum.

Good questions. Lets take it from the top.
60lbs of aragonite is good, You're really wanting to get 4-5in of a sand bed, that'll allow for denitrification to work well through it. If you get 2-3in you're asking for trouble.