Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Ancient Fish (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/ancient-fish/)
-   -   Please could any DP owners post some tank set up pics :) (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/ancient-fish/please-could-any-dp-owners-post-21581/)

wendex 02-23-2009 08:10 AM

Please could any DP owners post some tank set up pics :)
 
Hi I would love to see any pictures you've got of DP tanks to get some good ideas for a tank set.

Be lovely if anyone can offer advice on what works well - substrate, which plants (live) and other needs for these little fish and their otto tank mates.

lilgirlkat 02-23-2009 10:47 AM

oooh!! lemme find my pics!

http://i475.photobucket.com/albums/r...y/IMG_1624.jpg

http://i475.photobucket.com/albums/r...y/IMG_1623.jpg

http://i475.photobucket.com/albums/r...y/IMG_1622.jpg

http://i475.photobucket.com/albums/r...y/IMG_1625.jpg

http://i475.photobucket.com/albums/r...y/IMG_1626.jpg


there is sand substrate in my tank, along with a bunch of different plants. I have found that the DPs seem to be happy with any plants. I like the look of more leafy plants, which is why you see the leafier variety in my tank. I had some Java Moss in the tank, but it got too big too fast, so I took it out. They love to hunt and will often sleep on the plants. I have one DP that prefers to sleep wedged in ferns. :)

they're so cute!

wendex 02-23-2009 02:01 PM

:thankyou: for posting the pics - I really like ur tank set up, I think might use stones in a similar way to create a shelter looks really nice and I've seen big leafy plants like those in fs. I'm surprised your substrate is sand it looks like its got quite big grains? It looks like soil lovely and natural looking, is it black sand? and if you can remember the make of sand I'll look out for it. At the moment the sand in my 16 gallon tank is very light so I'll need to change that but still keep the gravel which covers about 1/4 of the bottom.

lilgirlkat 02-23-2009 02:28 PM

When I went to the pet store, they called it sand. It's called Eco Complete.

If you google it, you'll find a TON of places that sell it.

here's a link to some reviews of it.

APC Reviews - Eco-Complete™ Planted Aquarium Substrate - Powered by ReviewPost


I've had no problems. I even had to put my first DP in his tank without cycling it (was an emergency). I like to think that the eco complete and it's "beneficial bacteria" helped to stabilize my tank asap. I could be wrong, tho. :)

iamntbatman 02-27-2009 01:09 PM

Eco-complete is definitely one of the better substrates for growing plants, so if you want live plants it's definitely nice to have.

I don't currently own dwarf puffers, but my brother has a 10g dwarf puffer tank. He has three puffers and a bristlenose pleco. The substrate is play sand, plenty of fake plants, a piece of that marbled looking rock with a hole through it, and a nice piece of driftwood mounted on slate. He feeds the puffers frozen brine shrimp and bloodworms along with live blackworms and live pond snails. I've had similar success with these foods. There really isn't any fighting among the puffers as there's lots of cover for different territories, although sometimes during feeding they'll chase one another away from food.

They're definitely not difficult fish to keep provided you can keep them well-fed. They can be picky eaters but all will enthusiastically go after snails, so another tank with a thriving pond snail population would be really helpful. To be on the safe side, I would limit tankmates to inactive bottom dwellers that will be ignored by these little guys as they're known to be fin nippers. I did keep dwarf puffers with tiger barbs successfully, but I wouldn't guarantee that this would work out every single time.

wendex 02-27-2009 02:35 PM

Thankyou for all the help and information, just got to find and set up the tank :) but I'll keep you posted on my progress.

wendex 03-02-2009 03:07 PM

Got my puffer tank it's a 48l pod tank :greenyay: and I saw some cool DP in FS today :)

I'm going to go for the eco complete substrate as I do want to have live plants mainly in this tank so can't fill tank til I get that - probably tomorrow. Do you add the plants once the tank is cycled or can you put them in st8 away?

iamntbatman 03-02-2009 05:16 PM

You can put plants in right away. Plants actually use ammonia, so your tank can cycle even faster with plants in it than without them.

wendex 03-03-2009 04:01 AM

That'll be good - I've just replied to you in other thread! getting confused and told you the same info!! think it might be a good idea to start a new thread so it's all together :-)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:20 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2