Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Livebearers (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/livebearers/)
-   -   Calming down my very pissed off Male Platy (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/livebearers/calming-down-my-very-pissed-off-21502/)

Norma 02-21-2009 12:32 AM

Calming down my very pissed off Male Platy

Hello, this is my first post as I'm quite new to the fish world. It's been 2 months since I bought a 10 gal tank, with a red male platy (survivor), a golden molly (deceased), and a tetra (deceased). I also added 2 shadow cory cats (survivors) 1 week after getting the 3 above. So this week, I bought 2 female red platy's for my male platy. One is pretty young and vibrant and the other is just a bit smaller than my male one. Well he is pissed off and chasing them all over the place. He won't leave them alone. They're hiding everywhere and crowding under the heater these two days......Until tonight!!! I don't know if I made a huge mistake, but I got pretty pissed off myself and I put him in a nylon fry hanging tank inside the same tank. It's about 5x6x6 inches and he's hanging out in the corner. He was so peaceful and calm before, but the reason I got him more fish is because I thought he'd be even happier since I heard they are part schooling fish. What do you think I should do? For tonight, I'll leave him in the net so all could get some rest.

aspects 02-21-2009 12:49 AM

sounds like hes trying to establish himself as the alpha in the tank. just make sure you provide them enough places to hide from eachother and it should be fine.

Fishcricker 02-21-2009 09:37 AM

He is probably just trying to breed with them. Mother Nature Rules.

Norma 02-23-2009 12:28 AM