Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Freshwater Aquarium (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/)
-   -   Switching tanks (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/switching-tanks-21286/)

FishKid91 02-14-2009 11:40 PM

Switching tanks
 
Right now I have a 75gal (90 including the sump.) I have two turtles in the tank. I'll be taking them out and I'd like to put my fish that I have in my 29gal into it. My problem is about cycling. Can I use the water from the 29gal as well as fresh water and will the fish be fine? Or will I have to let the tank do a full cycle? I wont be switching them over until about 2 weeks or so until I get a new pump for the tank since right now I've just been draining all the water and putting new in. Please let me know!

FordMan 02-14-2009 11:48 PM

if you use all the old substrate filter medium and water it'll prob do a mini cycle but willl most likely befine to transfer the key is how you use the old media

FishKid91 02-15-2009 12:09 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by FordMan (Post 171710)
if you use all the old substrate filter medium and water it'll prob do a mini cycle but willl most likely befine to transfer the key is how you use the old media


I'll be using everything but the filter. I can't use it because it's a HOB filter and it's a sump tank. I'll have to buy another bag of rocks to fill the rest of the tank. I'll be using all plants (real and fake) and the fake coral.

FordMan 02-15-2009 12:17 AM

can you find a way to put your old filter medium in the sump? i mean cycling is really about the filter thats where 95% on nitrifying bacteria live where the flow of oxygen and food (amonia and nitrite) is and if you can plant the old medium in there they'll move to the new medium promptly

FishKid91 02-15-2009 12:36 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by FordMan (Post 171716)
can you find a way to put your old filter medium in the sump? i mean cycling is really about the filter thats where 95% on nitrifying bacteria live where the flow of oxygen and food (amonia and nitrite) is and if you can plant the old medium in there they'll move to the new medium promptly

I could set the filter sponge on the bottom of the sump. The water would have to travel through it. I don't know if you know built in sumps or not but it's a uniqaurium with a built in sump on the back. It looks like this but bigger, http://www.myfishtank.com/ProductImages/3044.jpg

FordMan 02-15-2009 12:46 AM

sounds good to me like i said anything will help i mean preferably mixed in with your new media and make sure you don't clean it either.

onefish2fish 02-15-2009 02:20 AM

why not have it on the disply tank for the time being?

FordMan 02-15-2009 08:17 AM

huh?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:26 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2