Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Freshwater Aquarium (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/)
-   -   fake vs. real (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/fake-vs-real-21220/)

slugfrompluto 02-12-2009 03:51 PM

fake vs. real

I have read a lot of postings about real plants, but I am still wondering if it is worth going with real plants. I have never done a real plant tank. Right now i don't have either real or fake plants. I am on a budget, and i really would like to go with real plants. What is all involved into doing real plants. By the way i have a 40 gallon tank that I want to do this to.

lilgirlkat 02-12-2009 04:53 PM

I'm brand new to live plants, myself. Not only does my tank look better, the fish are happier, and it seems to maintain itself. If it were up to me, all my tanks would be planted, but I haven't put the effort into researching brackish water plants.

I say go for it. They're awesome. It gives the tank such a great look. :)

aspects 02-12-2009 04:58 PM

live plants actually provide chemical filtration to the tank, as well as decoration. absolutely the better choice.

what plants you use will ultimately be determined by how mcuh you want to put into it. if you just want throw and grow, go with low light applictions. the usual suspects consist of java moss, java fern, anubias, some amazon swords, and duckweed. im sure theres a ton more available for low light applications, but these are the ones you see most often.

slugfrompluto 02-12-2009 06:06 PM

Thanks for the input. I think i will go with the plants. I have rocks in there now, is that ok? or do i need something else.

FuzzAz 02-13-2009 12:24 AM