Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Saltwater Aquariums (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-saltwater-aquariums/)
-   -   Grave Mistake (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-saltwater-aquariums/grave-mistake-212049/)

ericrey 06-24-2013 01:10 AM

Grave Mistake

Hi all, am new here, and new in the hobby also.. I wish to share my mistakes in setting up my FOWLR. This is my first attempt though.. I bought a 20g tank, and the store set it up with everything.. Fish, rocks, and corals. I thought it was that easy, because they said it would be. Alas, after just 3 days, everything died.. Then, I tried reading a bit (yeah, I know I should have done this first). I followed the steps in setting up, and waited for a week or two.. What amazes me, is that ammonia and nitrites indicators result to zero levels. Never I experienced, to have a trace, like from what I read, that initially, you will encounter high levels of both. So when after two weeks, I tried adding two domino fish. They were ok, then after two weeks, I added another two blue damsels. This might be in a rush here, but after 3 weeks, I tried adding 2 tomato fish, and a trigger fish. Later die I realize that the trigger fish is carnivore. What amazes me though is that it eats the pellets, and seem to be peaceful with the damsels and dominoes. the tomato fish werent eating though, and after 3 days, both tomato fish died. I was afraid that others will die also.. A week had gone by, but the remaining 5 fish are still healthy, and eats like there is no tomorrow.

My questions though, how come I did not experience ammonia and nitrites increase? Why did the tomato fish wont eat pellets? Can I add more fish to my 20gal tank?

I know I made some serious mistakes here, but I'm willing to learn

Thanks in advance...
Posted via Mobile Device

ericrey 06-24-2013 02:35 AM