Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Freshwater and Tropical Fish (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/freshwater-tropical-fish/)
-   -   Any advice for a newbie please? (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/freshwater-tropical-fish/any-advice-newbie-please-21078/)

nomadawn 02-07-2009 03:07 PM

Any advice for a newbie please?

Hi,
I am a newbie who is relieved to find this place!:-D

I have a small 60cmx30cmx30cm tank which is capacity 54litres. The temperature is 25 and I have three live plants. It was purchased for my two young children who love fish !

I really dont want to get this wrong and so would appreciate some help on a number of issues.

I run the tank for two weeks before putting any fish in and under the advice of our local pet supplier bought 2 male guppies and 2 zebra danios. All water tests were ok. The first two weeks, all fish seemed fine but then one of the guppies developed a whitish powdery covering over its head and eye area. By the time I had got some medication he had died. The other three fish looked ok. I did a 30% water change. Water tested and ok.

The very next day I noticed one of my zebra danios had become very aggresive to the other one and was attacking it frequently.I do not know if this is normal behaviour and so decided to monitor. The next day I discovered the bullied danio at the bottom of the tank swimming in a 'spiral' like motion whilst the bully fish was still attacking it ! :shock: The affected danio looked to be gasping for breath and was bumping into things in a frantic fashion all the time the other fish was attacking. I retrieved the poorly fish into a net to provide some relief

Now for the questions.
1. What happend to my guppy?
2. Are zebra danios normally this aggressive with each other?
3. Could the bully fish have killed the other one or was there something else going on?