Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Freshwater Aquarium (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/)
-   -   Tap water tests 0.5 for nitrIte (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/tap-water-tests-0-5-nitrite-210650/)

SilMarillion 06-22-2013 01:58 PM

Tap water tests 0.5 for nitrIte

Hi there,

I am new to keeping fish, and want to setup my first 30g tank. I've done a lot of reading about nitrAtes and nitrItes and the tank cycle, and I get it... so, before I even start with the tank setup, I went ahead and testing my tap water, as this will be my primary source for water....

It constantly tests as follows:

Zero nitrAtes
0.5 nitrItes
150 hard
0.5 chlorine (I will treat before adding to tank)
120 Alkalinity
6.8 pH

Knowing that I need to have ZERO nitrItes for healthy fish, can I use my tap water? Should I even be drinking this water with 0.5 nitrItes present?

I live in South Florida, if that adds anything to the conversation.

My kids want me to get GloFish ...

Byron 06-22-2013 04:33 PM

First thing, is to welcome you to Tropical Fish Keeping forum.:-D And to the hobby too.;-)

Now to your question. Are you using the API liquid nitrite test for this, or another (and liquid or strips)? I ask because some of these are not always that accurate.

Second question, can you confirm this with your municipal water authority? Most of these now have websites with water data, and something like nitrites would certainly be included in the data if they are present. If you can't discipher their data, post the link and I can take a look; I know some of these sites are pretty convoluted.

I will leave discussio of how to handle this until we have confirmation. Not to worry though, there are methods.

Byron.

SilMarillion 06-23-2013 11:26 AM

Thanks for the response.