Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Saltwater Aquarium Equipment (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/saltwater-aquarium-equipment/)
-   -   Coralife products?? (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/saltwater-aquarium-equipment/coralife-products-20941/)

uksub 02-02-2009 08:01 AM

Coralife products??

Hi
I'm just in the early stages of setting up my first Marine aquarium, so I'm new to the hobby. I found a 180 gal set up with most of the equipment I think I need. I spent this weekend making my sump out of a 40 gal tank and it all seems to work quite well. My set up will be FOWLR, probably about 180 - 200 bls of LR, stock list
2 Volitan Lions
2 Eels (Snowflake and Zebra or similar)
1 Emperor Angel or similar
1 Cherry Grouper
Possibly 1 Puffer of some description.
My question is, will I be OK with a Coralife 220 as my skimmer? Anyone familiar with the 220? Whats it like? Should I be investing in something better, I've heard quite a bit about Precision Marine and their Bullet series skimmers, but there bloody expensive!! and I'm really trying to do this on a tight budget...
Any help / ideas would be very much appreciated
Thanks in advance

conger 02-02-2009 09:47 AM

Hi uksub. I'm a fan of Coralife in general, I've used a Coralife light fixture and a Coralife RO/DI unit for quite a while now, and they've both been great. However, I have heard sub-par reviews of their skimmers (I've never used a Coralife skimmer myself, so I'm not speaking from experience).