Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Tropical Fish Diseases (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/tropical-fish-diseases/)
-   -   Dark red blotch & sm. white patches on female Swordtail's tail. Please help! (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/tropical-fish-diseases/dark-red-blotch-sm-white-patches-20786/)

soulsearcher 01-26-2009 06:17 PM

Dark red blotch & sm. white patches on female Swordtail's tail. Please help!

I am pretty new with fish, so please bear with me!

Three or four weeks ago I noticed my female pineapple swordtail platy was having trouble swimming normally. She was swimming nose-down, tail-up, and using the plastic plants in the tank to lodge herself in a position such that she wouldn't float to the top. I looked it up and it seemed that she has a bacterial infection of some kind and not a swim bladder problem as her feces was also a bit whiter than normal and her swimming ease varied too much for swim bladder disease.