Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Freshwater Aquarium (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/)
-   -   Cycling success (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/cycling-success-20537/)

catfishtabbi 01-17-2009 11:48 AM

Cycling success
 
SUPERBAC worked this time. I believe it was cycled in 3 days. I used r/o water, r/o right, blackwater expert and superbac with a lava rock and a soft rock with m-l gravel. only 10g I put a betta in on day 3 then 2 danios on day4 my paameters are soft- 20, ph 6.4 and the big 3 are 0. For those of you who followed my r/o panic posts, i added more r/o with no BWE. MY experiments w/ tap,r/o and BWE steadily suggest with the soft r/o i need only half dosing to MAINTAIN my ph @ 6.4 . I love this r/o. It is much easier to manipulate than hard tap, at least for my purpous.As well i will be adding freshwater essentials, for fish health and i understand that by adding a touch of AQ salt that helps fish to develop thier own slime coat! did it b-4, but never really knew why it worked.

Tyyrlym 01-20-2009 09:17 AM

Until you detect nitrates and ammonia and nitrite are zero I wouldn't consider the tank cycled. It can take a while for ammonia to start to show up in detectable quantities.

Burninator 01-20-2009 11:52 AM

If youre nitrates are at 0 then you arent cycled.

catfishtabbi 01-21-2009 08:55 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Burninator (Post 165239)
If youre nitrates are at 0 then you arent cycled.

Right now they're at less than .2. Iadded superbac ( a few drops (with a water change 1(g)
I was told some time ago that adding some with water changes was a good thing and to do it for the first month.

Tyyrlym 01-21-2009 09:40 AM

If you have to keep adding them then the tank isn't cycled. A cycled tank will maintain itself without additives like that. Either the tank isn't cycled and they know it so they have you keep adding the stuff, or its just a way to get you to keep buying their product.

0.2? My test won't pick up less than 5 ppm nitrates. What kind of test are you using?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:13 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2