Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Fish Breeding (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/fish-breeding/)
-   -   Is my Swordtail pregnant? (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/fish-breeding/my-swordtail-pregnant-20301/)

zzdarkangelzz1988 01-10-2009 12:40 PM

Is my Swordtail pregnant?

Hi,
as u probably guessed im pretty new to the fish business! i have had my 60L tropical tank set up for 6weeks, and have 5 tetras, 3 snails and a pair of swordtails. now i also have 5 baby mollys, in the little net thing i bought!, from my mums tank as hers was too small for the baby net. my femal swordtail has got very fat and has started hiding alot. there does seem to be a bright white spot on her belly, and her poops have turned very very red, this hasnt been normal for her in the three weeks ive had her! is she pregnant? please help!!
thanx

aquakid 01-10-2009 06:36 PM

I think she's pregnant so move her to a different tank. I could be wrong only time can tell us the answer

Sucidemonkey 01-10-2009 06:53 PM

I thought the Prego Dot's were black. Ive never had pregnant swordtails. but Red poop sounds like there might be blood in it. Whats her diet?

or it might be your fish food is colored red :P

zzdarkangelzz1988 01-11-2009 03:24 PM

im feeding on TetraMin flakes, so brown pink n yellow flakes! the spot is definately bright white. it also was def not there when i got her three weeks ago. and it only the last two days that her poops bin bright red!
thanks for advise so far!

Sucidemonkey 01-11-2009 04:02 PM

Maybe its some kind of fungus. My moms balla sharks devoloped a cotton Bright white stuff on there fines and stuff.

my Sword tails are Dark red/Orange. and they gave birth and i never saw a white dot on them, not even a black one. But my guppies have black dots on them when they are prego.

Little-Fizz 01-11-2009 07:28 PM