Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Freshwater Aquarium (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/)
-   -   Switching Filters (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/switching-filters-20226/)

lorindaleigh1 01-07-2009 11:10 AM

Switching Filters
 
I currently have an Aqua-Tech filter. My tank is cycled. I want to switch it to another filter. What is the best way to switch filters? I would assume that switching it would mess with my cycle. Also what is a recommended filter? Sorry I'm new to all of this. I just purchased my tank from someone about 2 weeks ago.

JohnnyD44 01-07-2009 11:38 AM

Unless you are switching to a filter which holds the same media filters as your current one, you may have to do a new cycle with your new filter. All of your beneficial bacteria for your tank resides in your filters and subtrate, not neccessarily your water....you may need to re-cycle, I could be wrong though, thats just my guess, wait for a more experienced user to answer your question....

lorindaleigh1 01-07-2009 11:50 AM

I have a 20 gallon tank. Would it be bad to run 2 filters? I'm thinking that I could run both until the new one builds up enough bacteria.

Maybe my filter isn't as bad as I heard it is. I have an Aqua-tech 20-40 power filter.

Tyyrlym 01-07-2009 12:02 PM

Running the new one along side the old is the best way to go. I'd run it for at least two weeks myself in order to assure you've got a good colony of bacteria built up before discontinuing using the old one. Also, if you can, I'd take some of the filter media from the first filter and put it in the new one in order to help things along.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:14 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2