Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Planted Aquarium (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-planted-aquarium/)
-   -   top spoil for substrate (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-planted-aquarium/top-spoil-substrate-20154/)

sinadyan 01-04-2009 03:55 PM

top spoil for substrate
 
If I remember correctly I have heard not to use topspoil as a substrate. Can someone explain why, since this is what is in streams and lakes. I would like to tru using it in one of my empty tanks. I was going to put a thin layer of gravel over the top

Sucidemonkey 01-13-2009 02:35 PM

i heard because most topsoil you buy comes with Ferts and stuff in it. I dont know anything about substrate but i did read something once and if i can recall correctly thats one reason.

catfishtabbi 01-16-2009 10:55 AM

No, no, no. Top soil may contain ferts and/or larve.When maintaining (and you'll have to) your plants the gravel and soil will mix and cloud your water,black.You can sieve rocks or gravel out of eco complete though.Eco's great ! i leave it as my main substrate and my plants are great.Sometimes i'll place white river rock around hard to plant roots like amazons and the eco sieves right thru then i can put the rocks back on top.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:23 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2