Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Invertebrates (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/invertebrates/)
-   -   Amano Shrimp Questions (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/invertebrates/amano-shrimp-questions-200186/)

PersonalityUnknown 06-07-2013 06:33 PM

Amano Shrimp Questions

I'm new to inverts, and I'm starting to love them! I have a 2.5 gallon betta tank with my 1 - 1 1/2 inch Amano shrimp and a Zebra Nerite snail. I wanted a shrimp just to have it and she seems to be doing well in my tank, even though my betta picks on her every so often. (She survived the night which is more than I can say for the ghost shrimp I tried.)

I do have /some/ algae development but not a lot. The tank is about 2 months old now and has only had a filter (Tetra 3i) for maybe a month. My cycle seems to be started and doing pretty well even with all I have in my small tank. When I went to work today I tested my water and everything seemed to be pretty good. My ammonia was a tad bit higher than 0, but I plan on doing a water change tomorrow night. (I do weekly 50% water changes)

Honestly, how badly and I overloading my tank...? It doesn't seem to be doing bad now but I'm still pretty new to the whole tank keeping thing.

My /real/ shrimp question is this:
What should I feed my Amano shrimp? My betta is a glutton and eats every single pellet I place in the tank and I'm terrified of over feeding him since I know betta's have a tiny stomach. What should I do so my shrimp can eat something more than just the little bit of algae my tank cultivates.

thekoimaiden 06-08-2013 10:35 PM