Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Planted Aquarium (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-planted-aquarium/)
-   -   Recomended CO2 systems for a noob! (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-planted-aquarium/recomended-co2-systems-noob-20002/)

Codyjp 12-27-2008 03:16 AM

Recomended CO2 systems for a noob!

Hello all, I am new to this and just started down the path of freshwater after 1 1/2 successful years of reefs (that project is on cruise control so now I need another I guess). I wondered into my LFS and he suckered me into an Aquapod 24gal that had already been setup and cycled with a few plants.

My goal is to have a very well planted tank with lots and lots of plants and a few happy fish. The focus though will be on strong health plants.

Now after doing a bit of reading it seems necessary to have a CO2 system and frankly it is all jibberish at this point. So I am hoping for some recommendations.

What I would like is this:
-Reliable and automated. I need this thing to function without help for as long as possible. I like the yeast bomb ideas but I just don't want to deal with that, it wont work for me. I would like one that has the Ph controllers as well so I wont have to monitor that actively.
-I would like to buy a full 'kit' so I just have to hook up a tank and go.
-I don't mind paying a bit extra for something if it is worth it. I am not a bank CEO or the manager of a pyramid scheme so I am not weeping extra cash but I don't want to upgrade in a year either.

Thanks for your help and I am looking forward to learning more from this site!

Cody

aunt kymmie 12-27-2008 11:02 AM

I'll be watching this post for replies as I'm also interested in doing/setting up the exact same thing as you are looking to do...

Oldman47 12-27-2008 02:20 PM