Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Planted Aquarium (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-planted-aquarium/)
-   -   Amazom sword not doing well... (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-planted-aquarium/amazom-sword-not-doing-well-19916/)

Winter 12-22-2008 04:36 PM

Amazom sword not doing well...
 
Hello~

I have 2 amazon sword plants that are starting to discolor. They are turning brown/yellow and some parts are even transparent - looking glassy. They are also no more than 6 inches in length.

They are in a 10 gallon tank with 3 RES turtles that are no more than 1.5 inches of shell. The tank has a UVA/UVB 50watt lamp (providing light and heat). There is no substrate that I am aware of.. I just use river stones. I've had the tank for a little over 2 weeks now.

I have no CO2 or water parameter knowledge. I am not using any type of CO2. I keep trying to read up on this stuff but I really have no understanding of it or any idea of what to do.

I would appreciate some advice and help. I hope this won't cost a lot...

WisFish 12-22-2008 07:14 PM

Use root fertilizer tabs with iron. They need iron.

onefish2fish 12-22-2008 10:55 PM

swords are big time root absorbers so a good substrate is key.

im also going to guess your light is not sufficient, as the leaves are loosing chlorophyl by browning and becoming transparent.


on a side note a 10 gallon tank is ABSOLUTELY to small for 3 RES, let alone 1. Please build them a suitable habbitat.

goodluck

Winter 12-23-2008 10:13 AM

Actually, I'll be picking up a 100 gallon this Sunday to move the turtles into. I would like to put some amazon sword in there too since the turtles really like to eat it. But I'm concerned about the extra costing it'll add up to... Like I don't know how much CO2 will cost or the other necessities. Like I understand that lighting will change for a 100 gallon...

Winter 12-24-2008 06:40 PM

As for plant care, do I cut and dispose the leaves that aren't look well or can I leave them?

onefish2fish 12-24-2008 07:13 PM

you can prob. get away without c02. i would get get a decent light and substrate.

yes, you can snip the browned out leaves as close to the rhizome as possible


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:47 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2