Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Freshwater Aquarium (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/)
-   -   Do CO2 and air pumps/stones do the same thing (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/do-co2-air-pumps-stones-do-19907/)

Aquaguru 12-22-2008 02:08 AM

Do CO2 and air pumps/stones do the same thing

Like the title just wondering if I should use the air pumps before I go and buy a CO2 unit. Sorry I am new to FW. Also how needed is a CO2 unit and will I not have success in my planted tank without one?

Thanks

FuzzAz 12-22-2008 02:32 AM

No, CO2 injection and air stones do quite different things. The main function of an air stone is to create turbulence and break the surface tension allowing gases to be exchanged between the water and the air above, such gases as oxygen, nitrogen, and CO2. CO2 injection provides additional bio available carbon in the water, CO2 is usually the limiting growth factor in aquarium plants. Though both air stones and CO2 injection are usually good, it would be completely counterproductive to use both at the same time. you can grow plants successfully without CO2, or so I have heard, but CO2 helps allot. If you have a small tank, I would encourage you to build your own CO2 generator, relatively simple but requires weekly maintenance. Otherwise pressurized systems are the only other way to go and they are quite expensive. If you dont use CO2 injection an air stone would be a good idea.

onefish2fish 12-22-2008 02:36 AM

air pumps pump air into a tank to disrupt the water tension to release bad gases, some can argue that it puts oxygen into the water however i feel it releases more negative gases then it is putting in the positive ones, regardless it is doing good.