Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Freshwater Aquarium (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/)
-   -   My First Tank! (20G) (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/my-first-tank-20g-19615/)

Bcarr 12-06-2008 12:57 AM

My First Tank! (20G)

1 Attachment(s)
Hello everyone! I'm new to the fish tank hobby, it seems you all know a lot about fish and aquariums. I'm very excited to get my new 20 Gallon tank started, but I was searching for some suggestions from the community.

At the moment, I have 3 Guppies in my tank, in addition to 1 Red Wag fry. I am in need of some suggestions of what fish I could add to the tank. Please suggest fish that are easy for beginners and are easily purchased at your local store. In addition, I have only 4 plants, a volcano and a plastic rock structure. I will be adding more plants and fish after I get some good suggestions!

Also! I'm new to the siphon tool, but when I was explained how to use it at Pets Mart I just didn't get it. So can anyone explain to me how to use this tool?

A picture of the tank! (Background soon to be purchased!)

kritas 12-06-2008 01:23 AM

First of all, get rid of the guppies, IMO. They are breeding machines, and will quickly over-run your tank by the end of the year....
Get maybe 10 or so Tetras(of your choice, except Congo Tetras). Maybe you could try some Corydoras(5-8), and a sparkling gourami.... All these can go together in the same tank, provided they have enough cover from each other...
Are those plants real? If they aren't, maybe you should get 2-3 real plants, maybe some Java Fern, And maybe an Amazon Sword, some Corkscrew Vallisneria or something.....

Bcarr 12-06-2008 01:32 AM