Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Saltwater Aquarium Equipment (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/saltwater-aquarium-equipment/)
-   -   Home Made Sumps (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/saltwater-aquarium-equipment/home-made-sumps-19576/)

uksub 12-04-2008 12:04 PM

Home Made Sumps

Hi..Iím very new to the Marine aquarium hobby and on a very steep learning curve! So please bear with me if Iím asking silly questions!!Ö
Iím in the fairly early stages of planning a FOWLR set up which Iím hopefully going to stock with some large fish (at the moment Iím thinking 2 Volitan Lion's, 2 Moray's (Snowfloke, Zebra), 2 trigger's (Picasso, Blue Jaw))ÖThe tank will be about 180 / 200 gal. My question is, how wise is it for a total beginner (with reasonable DIY skills) to make his own sump that would be good enough to cope with the extra filtration needed for a tank stocked with these fish?
From some other posts here I've seen, the sump arrangement looks fairly simple to me, am I missing something, or would it be fairly simple to buy a tank myself and partition it off for the skimmer, heater, pump and bio compartments, or is it not that simple??
Can anyone suggest any good reference books for someone who is contemplating an aggressive set up such as the one I'm planning?
Thanks again for the advice..

conger 12-04-2008 12:18 PM

I think you'll be fine, you said you have reasonable DIY skillz and sumps aren't that tough to build on your own. When I set up my first SW tank (90 gal, FOWLR), I built my own sump for it and it's been working great for me ever since.

Just be sure to do your research, it sounds like you have been, and consider the design options you have and figure out what will work best for you. Once you build it, it will be a pain to change if you wish you had done something different.