Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Freshwater Aquarium (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/)
-   -   Would like some advice regarding the cleaning of my 32 gal freshwater tank..... (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/would-like-some-advice-regarding-cleaning-19440/)

mags2313 11-27-2008 08:02 PM

Would like some advice regarding the cleaning of my 32 gal freshwater tank.....

I am a new aquarium hobbyist.. My bf and I have a 32 gal Freshwater tank with 2 Pink Kissing Gourami's, 6 Bloodfin Tetras, and 4 Sterbai Corydora's...

Anyway, I have already done one successful water change (20%) and have been continuing to read and research on all aspects of keeping an aquarium.

I have read that some people take out all of their decorations and fake plants everytime and rinse them out, and that they also take apart bits of the filter and rinse those out also...

I mean, I know that it's good to clean the motor of the filter every three months but should I be taking out all the decorations and fake plants every single time I clean my tank? Would this not cause more stress to my fish?

We have had our first tank now for three weeks.... and am also treating for ich right now (but that's another story another post, lol lol)

Thank you in advance to anyone who replies... :)

chevy305 11-27-2008 09:27 PM

cleaning tank