Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Planted Aquarium (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-planted-aquarium/)
-   -   Compatible plants? (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-planted-aquarium/compatible-plants-19391/)

Wallaby 11-24-2008 07:40 PM

Compatible plants?

So in the next few weeks I'm going to be setting up my 30in tall 26g (thought it was 29, but evidently not) half-hexagonal tank and I'm thinking about getting real plants for it.
I'm thinking I'm going to put 1 inch thick gravel in the bottom with however many inches thick 15 pounds of sand ends up to be. Firstly, is that a good idea? Should I ditch the gavel? Do I need to add anything more to that?

The plants I'm considering putting in are: (how many might I need, too)
Java Fern
Dwarf Subulata
Anarcharis

Are those good or bad plants for a complete beginner? Do they need lots of care?

I'm not sure what kind of lighting I'm going to be using but most likely not metal halide. It'll probably be one of those florescent plant lights. Suggestions?

Thanks.

aunt kymmie 11-26-2008 02:52 PM

The plants you list are very easy to grow and I'd get a compact flourescent light. I think the rule of thumb is 3 watts of lighting per gallon. I've got a heavily planted tank and have mostly sand w/ some ecocomplete mixed in as substrate. I'm not sure on what the depth for gravel should be. I was advised to go with 2" and am glad I did. I'm not sure how many plants you should get. My theory is that less is not more...I like lots & lots of plants in my tank! As far as ferts I use Flourish Excel & root tabs.

iamntbatman 11-28-2008 11:57 PM