Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Saltwater Fish (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/saltwater-fish/)
-   -   Quarantine Question (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/saltwater-fish/quarantine-question-19350/)

karaim 11-22-2008 10:24 AM

Quarantine Question

This might be stupid question, but here it goes anyway: if I ask my LFS to hold the fish for me for a few weeks, is this considered quarantining or does quarantining literally mean isolating the fish in a separate tank for a few weeks?

Sorry to sound ignorant, but I don't have a separate QT tank, and my LFS can hold the fish for me if need be.

Thanks.

ajmckay 11-22-2008 10:48 AM

Karaim.... I'm new to the hobby, but here are my thoughts...

The purpose of a quarantine is to:

1) Make sure the fish does not introduce any unwanted parasites/diseases into your display tank. By leaving the fish at your LFS, it will still be in their water, it will still have their parasites, disesases, etc... So for the purposes of avoiding diseases, I would say the LFS "quarantine" would not work.

2) Acclimate the fish to your water conditions. Same as above, if the fish is left at the LFS for a few weeks, he still will not acclimate to your water until he gets to your home.

3) Let you observe the fish easier, and often. I think a quarantine is a great way to 'get to know' your fish. You can observe it's behavior and mannerisms, you can pamper it and make sure that it's eating and acclimate it to your food sources (who knows what it ate before? Who knows what it will eat best?) Once you know the fish's personality, then it will be easier to spot trouble down the road.