Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Freshwater Aquarium (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/)
-   -   My fish cycle log... (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/my-fish-cycle-log-19343/)

jay2k6ie 11-21-2008 12:10 PM

My fish cycle log...
 
Hi guys,

Ive decided to do a daily log of my water parameters during my 'fish' cycle..Im cycling a 64g planted tank with 6 pearl danios for the cycle.

Im on my first day today and the params are as follows:

PH: 7.6
Ammonia: 0-0.25ppm
nitrite: 0-0.25ppm
nitrate: 0

I think these results would warrant maybe a 20% water change?

aunt kymmie 11-21-2008 12:35 PM

Yes, I would do a water change. You want to minimize the stress those danios must be feeling. Keep us updated!

Highland lake13 11-22-2008 07:53 PM

I would change about 30% because those ammonia and nitrite readings are high, but congratulations on the tank!

~Cam

jay2k6ie 11-23-2008 11:02 AM

Yesterdays readings:
Ammonia - 0-0.25ppm
PH 7.6
Nitrite - 0-0.25ppm
Nitrate - 0ppm

Todays readings:

Ammonia 0-0.25ppm (maybe less definitly not more)
PH 7.6
Nitrite 0-0.25ppm
Nitrate 10ppm

I have been doing 20-30% water changes daily.. Is it possible im having a nitrate spike already?

satwood 11-23-2008 01:44 PM

Hi,

Test your change water after treating it, before it goes in the tank. When I was first doing this I discovered my tap water had 10 - 20 ppm nitrate and 5 ppm phosphate right from the tap. That meant my nitrates were high even before my tanks were cycled. The baselines get confusing sometimes.

jay2k6ie 11-23-2008 03:25 PM

My tap water parameters:

PH: 7.5
Ammonia: 0-0.25ppm
Nitrite: 0ppm
Nitrate: 0 - 5ppm

Judging on todays results posted previously do people thing im having the nitrate spike already? What do people think I should do next..? Im kinda confused by my results..

jay2k6ie 11-23-2008 06:14 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by satwood (Post 153986)
Hi,

Test your change water after treating it, before it goes in the tank. When I was first doing this I discovered my tap water had 10 - 20 ppm nitrate and 5 ppm phosphate right from the tap. That meant my nitrates were high even before my tanks were cycled. The baselines get confusing sometimes.

Do you mean test it after adding the 'stress coat' to it? I tested the tap water and posted the results previously but im not exactly sure what to take from the results...??

andulrich4all 11-23-2008 07:42 PM

If you have water parameter problems with your tap water, I use the 5 gallon bottled water they have in the front of the food store. It is a Glacier machine and it cost like 1.50 for the 5 gallons, pretty cheap, and its good water.

Just an idea. Good luck with the tank!

jay2k6ie 11-24-2008 06:17 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by andulrich4all (Post 154037)
If you have water parameter problems with your tap water, I use the 5 gallon bottled water they have in the front of the food store. It is a Glacier machine and it cost like 1.50 for the 5 gallons, pretty cheap, and its good water.

Just an idea. Good luck with the tank!

Yea I know the ones your talking about I use them all the time when im in the US but we dont have those here in Ireland and even if we did transportation would be a problem because I'd need like 20G a week..

My tap water shouldnt be a major problem...

jay2k6ie 11-24-2008 11:54 AM

Todays Results:

Ammonia: 0ppm
Nitrite: 1.0ppm
PH: 7.6

Didnt bother taking a nitrate test as theres not really any point at this stage..

Im going to do another 30% water change going by the above results..


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:55 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2