Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Freshwater Aquarium (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/)
-   -   Some Noob Questions (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/some-noob-questions-19031/)

NeonDetra 11-05-2008 09:44 PM

Some Noob Questions

Hello, i'm new to aquariums, as i am to this sight, and i now understand the beauty of fish! though I'm still not clear on some things. (I know what a noob), but hey, these are my fish and a healthy enviroment is my number one priority.

1) Is there an easier way to maintain waste than the vaccum method? if so what is it? How often should i do this?

2) What would it take to remove a very large waste backup without removing to much water? ( I never knew removing waste was a must untill now)

3) How do I get rid of the tea colour? ( I bought driftwood, and i didn't like it so i took it out, but the tea colour still remains)

4) How often should I change water, and by how much?

Thanks for the help in advance, the more knowledge I have about this sort of thing the better. :-D

onefish2fish 11-05-2008 09:58 PM

1. syphoning out water with water changes
2. weekly water changes
3. water changes and possibly putting carbon in your filter
4. weekly, 10-20% tank volume

iamntbatman 11-05-2008 10:13 PM