Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Freshwater Aquarium (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/)
-   -   Filtration Questions (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/filtration-questions-18584/)

winnydapoo 10-13-2008 06:01 PM

Filtration Questions

Hi All,

I'm an aquarium noob, I bought a 3 foot tank a few weeks back and I'm gradually doing all the research for what I need in it while I build the stand and hood.

Anyway I have basically settled on using the AquaOne CF700 cannister filter. I have two questions around this. First, will I need some additional aeration if I use a cannister filter, and second, I have read that if a cannister filter fails it can lead to the water from the tank draining out back through the lines, what do I need to do to protect against that?

Thanks for any advice that can be offered :)

kritas 10-13-2008 06:24 PM

First of all, you no doubt live in Australia, because Aquaone is an australian brand... This is probably the worst brand for any aquarium appliance available out there. IMHO, i would return that filter right now.
You will not be needing extra aeration for your tank, but it is always good to have it running, during the night is best, as that is when your plants will be sucking up the oxygen, and your fish need added aeration to flourish.
Canister filters are prone to fail, like any other filter out there, but the solution to that is buying a check-valve, preferably a non-metal check-valve. Just cut the line going from your tank to your filter, and connect them again with the check-valve... Quite simple really.

Hope that helps :)

winnydapoo 10-13-2008 06:30 PM

Thanks for the reply.

Yes I am in Australia. If AquaOne is so bad, what are good alternatives? I haven't bought the filter yet so I am open to suggestion.

kritas 10-13-2008 07:02 PM