Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Freshwater and Tropical Fish (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/freshwater-tropical-fish/)
-   -   Goldfish Question (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/freshwater-tropical-fish/goldfish-question-18360/)

buglacrosse 10-04-2008 11:25 PM

Goldfish Question

I am a college student so I can't afford expensive fish, so I get the 24 cent feeder goldfish (I feel like I am also doing a good deed) I had this one fish Quincy for 2 years in a small bowl, when I was going back so school I thought he would like some pals so I got a couple more goldfish. They were fine and didn't seem to have any problems, I didn't like having an odd number so I got one more. As soon as I put him in the tank he went straight to the bottom and stayed there, a day or two after I got the new fish he died. The next day another one died, the next day the third. Until the only fish was Quincy, I didn't know what was going on I feared that Quincy would soon go so I replaced the water. But I guess I didn't do enough because that weekend I found him dead with a clear goo type substance around him. I don't know what happened????? I feel awful. I am going to get some new (not feeder) fish and I don't want the same problem to happen. Any suggestions?

iamntbatman 10-05-2008 12:02 AM

I'm sorry for your loss; it's rough losing a pet, especially after caring for it for so long.

However, take this opportunity to learn a bit about fishkeeping: