Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Saltwater Aquariums (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-saltwater-aquariums/)
-   -   Starting a 30 Gallon Tank (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-saltwater-aquariums/starting-30-gallon-tank-183337/)

ZachBates 05-20-2013 02:12 AM

Starting a 30 Gallon Tank

I'm looking to start a 30 gallon tank. I'm new to saltwater aquariums so I'm not looking for a setup to support corals. I was just wondering what I'm going to need to start the tank.

wake49 05-20-2013 07:45 AM

Welcome to the forum, ZachBates. Nice to meet you.

You obviously need a tank. With a 30 gallon your stocking choices are limited, so you will not be able to keep a lot of Angels (some of the Dwarf Angels will be ok), and absolutely no Tangs, Triggers, abd most Puffers (you may be able to get away with a Valentini Saddleback Puffer).

Next I would get a heater. I like the Aqueon heaters, but everyone has personal preferences. I have run the Aqueons on two twenty gallon tanks continuously with no issue whatsoever. For a 30, you will need a 100w (a 150w might be better if it has an auto-shut off. The Aqueons I recommended do.)

You will need Live Rock. I would put about 40 lbs in the tank, and start with 10 lbbs "Live" rock and 30 lbs "Dry" rock. The live rock will seed the dry rock.

You will need live sand. I myself prefer a Deep Sand Bed of 4-6", but you can also run a shallow sand bed of less than 1". The Deep Sand Bed will help with denitrification, as anaerobic bacteria turns nitrates into nitrogen gas, that leaves the system naturally. Here is an article on Deep Sand Beds by Ron Shimek. Just give that a read if you do decide to go that route.

You will need a light. I think that a single strip T5HO will be fine with a 50/50 bulb if you are not doing coral.