Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Freshwater Aquarium (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/)
-   -   Please help! Cycling 30g - Parameters are safe, fish dying! (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/please-help-cycling-30g-parameters-safe-18288/)

occram 10-01-2008 06:26 PM

Please help! Cycling 30g - Parameters are safe, fish dying!

Hello,

I'm very new to this but I think I've finally got an understanding of all this stuff. I'm still in the first stage of my tank (which took awhile because I kept switching out parts I didn't like. Like loud air pumps and filters that didn't work.)

With that said, I think I've finally got the equipment I think is good and I'm starting to build a beneficial bacteria in my new filter. I'm doing it with fish and I'm doing about 25% to 50% water changes as needed every day or two as needed. My fish are still dying!

I'm keeping Ammonia and Nitrite between 0 and 0.25ppm and Nitrates between 0.25 and 0.50ppm.

I have WELL WATER, is there anything else that could be killing my fish off? Should I keep my hands out of the tank? What am I doing wrong?

Thanks in advance...
Mark~

Flashygrrl 10-01-2008 06:33 PM

Have you run a test on your nitrates? pH?

occram 10-01-2008 06:35 PM

Yeah, the Nitrates are between 0.25 and 0.50 and the PH is around 7.0 at all times.

Kim 10-01-2008 08:42 PM

What kind of fish are you using? Some can tolerate a cycle and others just can't. What decorations are in the tank, nothing toxic? When you change the water what are you doing? Where did you get these fish, did you get them all together, did they look healthy when you got them? Any signs of disease before they die?

Wow, you lucky person with a pH of 7.0 :lol: .

occram 10-01-2008 08:53 PM