Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Freshwater Aquarium (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/)
-   -   Hello, Newbie here! (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/hello-newbie-here-18083/)

Lobee 09-23-2008 11:27 PM

Hello, Newbie here!

Alright, I just have a few newbie questions that probably sound silly but im gonna ask anyway so I do the setup the right way for the first time.

I have I think a 50 gallon tank. I had it so long that I forget what is the excact gallon is. I will find out for sure. Anyway I just set it up after a long drawnout repair. I want a fishtank look to be with a lot of plants and fish swimming between them. I will take a picture to show you what it looks like so far tomorrow. I have a penguin 250. I have a 40watt light which I know is the wrong lighting so I will be nuying the correct one soon. I think I need about a 100watt. Well here is the issue besides many others :wink: . My boyfriend and I are arguing about if we need a DIY Co2. I am trying to convince him we need one, while he is telling me we dont need one because we will just use really good lighting for the plants and they should be fine. So I really dont want to buy all the things that I want in it, and have them just die if he is wrong about not getting the Co2. So can anyone help me here and tell me if I have a planted aquarium, would I need a Co2 or can I rely on the good light to do the DIY Co2's job?I know Co2 produces carbon M, so lighting shouldnt be just enough to keep plants healthy. Im sorry if this sounds confusing but im confused also and its late so from reading about setting up all day, im pretty much ready to go to bed out of frusteration. \So please bare with me and I would apprechiate any helpful advice. :?:

SheyFirestar 09-23-2008 11:42 PM