Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Tropical Fish Diseases (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/tropical-fish-diseases/)
-   -   Help! added substrate now water is totally opaque (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/tropical-fish-diseases/help-added-substrate-now-water-totally-17998/)

amber1978 09-20-2008 10:09 AM

Help! added substrate now water is totally opaque
 
Hi

I've added JBL substrate and aquarium sand to my sand, my fish are all in a temporary tank. started to add water back in tank (170ltrs) now half full. the water is completley opaque, cant see through it at all. should i run the external filter to clear it or should I leave filter off in the hope that the water settles, am worried that this may clog my filter (aqua one 1200) and also need to get the fish back in asap???

any help would be fantastic, i'm freaking out a bit.

thanks, amber.

willow 09-20-2008 03:00 PM

hi
have you got the filter running in the tank that the fish are in ?
the sand will settle once you are finished,then for the little
bit that is left the filter should take it out,if possible put some filter wool in the filter to catch the fine particals.

Little-Fizz 09-20-2008 03:43 PM

Did you rinse the sand REALLY good? I had to rinse mine like 17 times before the water ran clear.

amber1978 09-21-2008 02:18 AM

Thanks guys, I kept the filter in the tank the fish were in and everything setted in a couple of hours. the water is now clear and fish and filter are all back in the main tank.

thanks for the help xx

willow 09-21-2008 03:45 AM

fantastic,glad it worked out. :)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:56 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2