Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Saltwater Aquariums (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-saltwater-aquariums/)
-   -   clearing some confusion for first saltwater tank (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-saltwater-aquariums/clearing-some-confusion-first-saltwater-tank-17259/)

skimmer247 08-21-2008 08:37 PM

clearing some confusion for first saltwater tank

I have a 10 gallon and a 20 gallon "long" aquarium. I have been researching for a few weeks and talking to the petland people for information on starting my first saltwater tank. I have some experience with freshwater, but none whatsoever when it comes to saltwater, I here is the plan I have laid out.

I can not afford the live rock so I was thinking of going for a "fish only" tank in either the 10 or 20 gallon. From what I understand, what I need to do this is...

-Tank with stand
-Tank cover
-light
-normal 20 gallon filter
-sand, not live sand
-hydrometer
-water heater
-instant ocean saltwater mix
-test kits
-fish and fake coral/rocks/plants

I set up the tank, test water, make sure levels are right, keep tank running like this for 2 weeks changing a bit of water with pre mixed water, and then I can add a fish. Right?

Can I substitute normal sand and a normal light for live sand and a suitable light to improve the water quality?

Why can I not simply have maybe 3-6 pounds of live rock in my tank?

Which tank should I use, the 10 or the 20 gallon?

I know I want an ocellaris clownfish, how many other fish can live comfortably in a 10 or 20 gallon with this clown, and what species?

onefish2fish 08-21-2008 10:24 PM

my advice is to do more research, and when you think you've done enough, do some more. ( while you research this will give you time to save money as well as be able to do it right the first time )