Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Freshwater Aquarium (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/)
-   -   Advice on stocking tank please. (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/advice-stocking-tank-please-171250/)

marine0311 05-06-2013 12:19 PM

Advice on stocking tank please.

Hello all. Im nearing the end of completion of a fishless cycle on my 46 gallon tropical aquarium. I used a chunk of Tilapia wrapped in cheesecloth, with a pinch of fish flakes after the first bacteria brought ammonia down. Ammonia levels were above the testing scale for a couple weeks. Everything is looking good, and im almost ready to stock.
Here is my question......
I plan to have no more than 18 assorted Platy in this tank. Can I, should I, add all 18 in 1 day, (properly acclimated) ???
Im new to this, and am unsure of the quantities of bacteria that are established in my tank, given the method I used to cycle, meaning I am wondering if you think that my cycle method has created enough bacteria to immediately support a bio load of 18 platy? On the other hand, I dont want to add to little at a time and have good bacteria die off.
Thanks all.

Byron 05-06-2013 12:37 PM

You should have no problems adding 18 platy to a 46g tank that is cycled.

Do you have live plants? These make it even easier, but regardless, as I indicated above I think you're fine.

The "bacteria" don't exactly die, they go into a sort of hibernation. I'm not sure how long this can last, but recent research indicates it is more than most of us ever imagined.

Byron.

marine0311 05-06-2013 12:47 PM

Thanks. I have a couple live plants, was thinking of adding a couple moss balls. Do moss balls have the same benefits of live plants?

Byron 05-06-2013 12:53 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by marine0311 (Post 1979714)