Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Saltwater Fish (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/saltwater-fish/)
-   -   seahorse help (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/saltwater-fish/seahorse-help-16994/)

chrissy86 08-11-2008 02:01 PM

seahorse help

hi to all
i'm a newbie on here so sorry if i dont get all the lingo etc lol
any way i am thinking of starting up a seahorse tank. i've done a whole load of research on the actual creatures and know roughly how to set up the tank.
i only want a small tank as it is going on a shelf in my daughters room, so i was looking at dwarf seahorses. thought it was the answer to it all however i cant find them any where
i live in the uk so if any one else knows of a place etc then please shout up
otherwise any one have any ideas of another type i could have
i havent brought anything just yet so theres no limit on tank size but would prefer a small one
thank you in advance

SKAustin 08-11-2008 05:31 PM

A piece of advice on Seahorses, they are extremely delicate, and require meticulous attention to your aquarium husbandry (water changes, filtration maintenance, ect) If they are not kept in near perfect conditions at all times, they can be very difficult to keep alive. Personally, unless you've had a few good years experience with SW or reef tanks, I would recommend against trying to keep these animals. Too many folks that have no experience in such delicate systems, dive into this merely for the novelty of having a seahorse, only to find that they cannot provide properly for the seahorses. The end result is the death of the animal, a discouraged hobbyists looking to sell off all of their equipment, and a sizable dent in their wallet.