Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Freshwater Aquarium (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/)
-   -   sand bottom? (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/sand-bottom-16977/)

markiee55 08-10-2008 09:16 PM

sand bottom?

could y'all give me some advice on sand substrate?

i've always used gravel and im new to sand...

Pasfur 08-10-2008 09:21 PM

More details please...
Live plant tank? Fish only? What types of fish? Tank size?

iamntbatman 08-10-2008 09:28 PM

Depending on what sorta fish you're keeping, there are different sands to consider.

African Cichlid sand: this stuff's expensive, and will raise the pH and hardness of your water. It's great for Rift Lake cichlids and would be neat for livebearers.

Black Tahitian Moon Sand: black sand. Looks great. Expensive.

Onyx sand: I think it's a little more coarse than other sands, but it looks good and is good for live plants. Also expensive.

Play sand: Great stuff! You can buy huge bags of it from Home Depot or Lowes for dirt cheap. (Actually cheaper than dirt cheap. I'm pretty sure it's cheaper than potting soil.) You have to rinse it a lot so it won't cloud up your tank, but it looks good.