Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Planted Aquarium (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-planted-aquarium/)
-   -   Best Plant For Breeding Tank? (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-planted-aquarium/best-plant-breeding-tank-16869/)

Cutmore 08-06-2008 06:18 PM

Best Plant For Breeding Tank?

Hello Everyone.

Im not sure if this should go in the plants section or the breeding or what, i supose it applys to either.

Anyway, I am quite new to breeding, but I have a nice tank ready to set up. I have read in alot of posts that floating plants are good to help fry to survive.
But I have not seen one of these posts mention what plant is good to use. Can anyone please tell me a plant to use?

Thanks for reading.
P.S I am new to this Forum so this may have been answered but i have looked though a few pages...

beweeb 08-06-2008 08:00 PM

mosses are good for fry and hornwart and cobomba

Cutmore 08-06-2008 08:06 PM

Thanks.

I will look out for that when i go to my LPC tomorrow.

I will look into it abit more in internet, i just need a guide line of what i need. The internet is confusing when you are clueless :lol:

Kim 08-06-2008 08:30 PM

I have some java moss. Not sure how well it is going to root as of yet. I have heard that it can form a carpet over the bottom of the aquarium, as well as be floated on top. Both uses would be good for fry though.

I would think anything that is dense and has small leaves would work well too.

Marcelo Borges 08-06-2008 09:55 PM

I don't know

hugs

Visit My blog

herefishy 08-07-2008 02:19 AM

Java moss, Christmas moss, Taiwan moss, star grass, najas guadalupensis, dwarf baby tears.......

onefish2fish 08-07-2008 03:03 AM

a few larger rocks can also work well with fry.