Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Freshwater Aquarium (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/)
-   -   Electrical safety for desktop nano tank (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/electrical-safety-desktop-nano-tank-168098/)

Deanna01 05-02-2013 08:42 AM

Electrical safety for desktop nano tank
 
1 Attachment(s)
Hi, all. Sorry, there doesn't seem to be a forum where this question fits well.

I have a Fluval Chi that I want to place on my desk. The electric outlet for my desk is underneath the desk and currently has a surge protector strip for all my computer electronics. I tried buying a GFCI Shockbuster outlet adapter, but it won't fit into the power strip.

Does anyone have advice for me on how I can place the tank there safely, from an electrical hazard standpoint? Pic attached, in case it helps. I would like to place the Chi in the blank spot by the monitor. Cords and outlet shown.

JDM 05-02-2013 08:51 AM

Replace the floor outlet with a GFCI outlet. You probably won't find a simplex version (single outlet) so you will need to replace the brass cover with a duplex cover as well. Messing with adapters and extra cords is just more of a mess and the outlet is on the floor, it's not like you can provide a drip loop to that.

Even easier and maybe better, would be to replace the breaker for that circuit with a GFCI breaker... I happen to play with electrical all the time so easy for me might not be easy for you.

Jeff.

Deanna01 05-02-2013 09:02 AM

Thanks! My husband is pretty good with electrical, and I will see if he can do either of those.

AbbeysDad 05-02-2013 09:55 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Deanna01 (Post 1942746)
The electric outlet for my desk is underneath the desk and currently has a surge protector strip for all my computer electronics. I tried buying a GFCI Shockbuster outlet adapter, but it won't fit into the power strip.

Why not plug the Shockbuster outlet adapter directly into the outlet, then plug the power strip into it?

Deanna01 05-02-2013 09:56 AM

The Shockbuster is duplex, and the outlet is only single.

JDM 05-02-2013 10:35 AM

... and the floor mounted outlet is still prone to having water drip onto it.... wet cords, wet carpet and electrical just don't mix so the protection needs to be in the floor outlet or at the breaker.

I never thought I would need to worry about it with my tank but I've already had one small leak issue that could have involved electrical safety issues had I not at least had the cord setup to drip properly.

Jeff.

Deanna01 05-02-2013 10:37 AM

Yeah, my husband said he'll switch out the breaker. Thanks!

JDM 05-02-2013 10:45 AM

Perfect.

Not to try to tell him his job.... but make sure that you test the breaker at the plug in the floor in the off chance that the floor plug is not grounded properly... I've seen it often enough to be worth the test. Even the new plug testers have a GFCI test button on them now too, I think, which makes it easy to plug it in, push the button and know that it is wired correctly without getting into test meters. Hardware store item that is very worth having to just test any outlets.

Jeff.

AbbeysDad 05-02-2013 07:11 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by JDM (Post 1943282)
... and the floor mounted outlet is still prone to having water drip onto it.... wet cords, wet carpet and electrical just don't mix so the protection needs to be in the floor outlet or at the breaker.

I never thought I would need to worry about it with my tank but I've already had one small leak issue that could have involved electrical safety issues had I not at least had the cord setup to drip properly.

Jeff.

My bad.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:00 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2