Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Freshwater Aquarium (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/)
-   -   Stocking Ideas for QT (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/stocking-ideas-qt-16618/)

qpc68 07-28-2008 09:12 PM

Stocking Ideas for QT
 
Hi y'all

The misses and I are considering upgrading our 1 gallon off/on QT for one of those 12 gallon Eclipse systems (bio-wheel filter/light built in). We just want to do some fake plants with this one along with lightly stocking it.

We currently have two shoals in our main tank, 6 neon/5 rummy nose tetras. We're considering moving the 6 neons over once the QT has cycled.

My question is basically a quest for ideas. If we decide not to go with the tetras, what are some other NON shoaling fish that would do well in that size tank and situation? I was considering a Bolivian Ram, and maybe a smaller catfish (Pictus?). Anyone have any thoughts or suggestions?

okiemavis 07-28-2008 09:15 PM

I'm confused...were you planning on stocking your QT? Cuz the whole point of a QT is that it's not got other fish in it.

qpc68 07-28-2008 09:20 PM

Understood, but is there no benefit to keeping other fish in there? I was under the impression based upon others post that many people use smaller tanks with light stock as QT for their main tank. Is this not correct?

PDXfishy 07-28-2008 09:35 PM

Not correct, even if there are certainly people who can't resist putting fish into anything water. ;)

A QT should have low light, a strong filter, and good heating. Ideally it has no gravel at all or only a very thin layer of sand. If it has nothing at all, dark paper under the tank will prevent reflection. Some fake plants give the fish some feeling of security.

The reason of keeping it simple is that you may have to work with medication, chemical, heat etc. It is also vital that everything in the tank can be disinfected easily.

Little-Fizz 07-28-2008 09:35 PM

Most people use a QT tank for sick/injured fish or maybe prego fish, and yes for making sure fish are healthy before adding them to the main tank. But I believe stocking your QT would defeat the purpose.

qpc68 07-28-2008 09:47 PM

Alrighty then...in that case, I have a cheap plastic one gallon "tank" with no filter and a cheap low wattage light. If i were to cycle the tank and put some form of heater/filtration in it would this be sufficient? My largest fish will grow to about 5 inches in length. If so, what kind of filtration would you recommend?

PDXfishy 07-29-2008 12:07 AM

Sufficient? Yes, with the abovementioned equipment definitely.

Filter: Doesn't really matter as long as the filter can use activated carbon cartridges of some sort. In case of a QT tank, carbon really helps to get toxins and medication out of the water quickly if necessary. The filter should not creat too much current, as sick fish should not be stressed/exhausted in any way.

Heating: The heater should be able to increase heat by at least 1 degree/h for heat therapy. If you tank is not huge, it does not have to be super strong.

Total darkness (which fish rarely "see" in nature) may stress out sick fish. A moonlight (cheaply available from your LFS) can help.

1077 07-29-2008 03:02 AM

at the risk of being different I keep two or three molly's in my 10 gal quarantine tank with a filter(,carbon) heater, upturned clay pot and approx one inch of gravel. When I need to put new or sick fish in it I simply take the molly's out and move them. They help keep the bacteria alive needed in all tanks. Could I use fish food instead? yes. My Fish, my tank, my choice.

qpc68 07-29-2008 09:29 AM

My concern was the bacteria, but I assumed since I was so passionately told that keeping fish in a QT was a no-no and that the bacteria would be fine without anything to generate any waste. So this is incorrect, right? If there were zero fish in the QT than I would need to continuously add something to the water to simulate their being actual life for the bacteria to stay alive. Is that accurate?

1077 07-29-2008 09:54 AM

Yes.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:24 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2