Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Freshwater Aquarium (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/)
-   -   Ideal Home for Betta? -- Eclipse? Custom? I'm Confused! (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/ideal-home-betta-eclipse-custom-im-16564/)

geekchicklet 07-27-2008 02:54 AM

Ideal Home for Betta? -- Eclipse? Custom? I'm Confused!

I am looking to put together a new home for my male betta, Cornelius.

- I'd love to decorate it (with plants and coloured lights and all of those things), but want this to be a home he will appreciate and I don't know what is safe and ideal for him.

- I want it to be easy to maintain. I'm a fish noob!

- He absolutely hates current, but I want his water to be clean. I did buy an Eclipse 3, but have read mixed reviews about the current and one reviewer mentioned his betta's fins being caught in the wheel (eek!) I haven't started it, yet, so it can be returned if it's not the right solution.

- I'd like to keep it as small as possible (maybe 2.5/3 gallons?). I have this issue with needing to be able to carry it out on my own, in case of an emergency. I also travel once/year for work and want to be able to take it to someone's house for fish-sitting.

I have read so much here and appreciate all of the advice, but I am completely baffled. I don't understand everything. I don't know where to start. The idea of picking the right filter, cover and light(s) scares me so much, but none of the 'kits' seem right for my little guy.

Note: I have another thread in which I discuss that my male betta is recovering from fin rot and biting himself. This should be taken into consideration.

Also, if anyone can recommend the best way to move the betta, I'd appreciate it. He always fights me and I don't want to stress him out during moves any more.