Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Introduce Yourself (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/introduce-yourself/)
-   -   Hello from Boston (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/introduce-yourself/hello-boston-16329/)

redpaulhus 07-17-2008 10:45 AM

Hello from Boston

Hi,
My names Red, and I'm a fishgeek.
:)

I'm currently keeping about 10 freshwater tropical tanks, 1 brackish, and 1 reef.
In the past I've also kept native marine (temperate) aquaria, as well as native freshwater.
I've been keeping fish of one sort or another since I was about 7 years old, and reading everything fish or marine-biology related I could find.
I went to school at Florida Tech, where I majored in Bio Oceanography with an un-official minor in Aquaculture (it wasn't an option, so I just took all of the Aquaculture classes I could !)

Right now I'm keeping some killies, some SA dwarf cichlids, some Lake Tang. cichlids, some West African mouthbrooders (Pseudocrenilabrus nicholsi ), some CA cichlids, some goodeids, cherry shrimp, Celestial Pearl Danios, a tank full of non-dwarf SA cichlids (with loaches and catfishes), an Ancistris sp. ,and some sweet Indian mudskippers.

The Ancistris, some of the killies, the CPD's, the shrimps, the P. nicholsi's , and (of course) the shellies + lamps are breeding.
(I feel I don't "breed" my fish - I just keep them happy. They do all the work :D)

Oh, and the list of what I'm keeping may change next week - our club's monthly meeting is next Monday, and its our twice-a-year "buck-a-bag" auction --- so there will be lots of good deals, and I'll be selling off some stock, which means I'll have room for more new fish - so my Tank Blurb needs to wait at least another week :)

hmmm
other things I'm interested in:
Rainbowfishes (just don't have a spot for them right now, usually keep some).
Catfishes