Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Tropical Fish Diseases (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/tropical-fish-diseases/)
-   -   Guppy not well: no colour, poor fin quality, irritated gills (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/tropical-fish-diseases/guppy-not-well-no-colour-poor-163081/)

CointreauDudleyHugoAlfie 04-26-2013 07:37 AM

Guppy not well: no colour, poor fin quality, irritated gills

4 Attachment(s)
Hi Tropical Fish Keeping Community,

I have yet another guppy question, this time to do with a guppy I removed from my main tank into a hospital tank (20l) about 10 days after I bought him.

I am very new to fish keeping but am eager to get on top of things! I am starting a new tank so the guppy was in less than desirably water parameters before he was put in the separate tank (I have had problems with ammonia in the main tank). I originally took the guppy out of the main tank because he was being "bullied" by all three of my other male guppies (constantly) and I let it go hoping they would sort themselves out until they really began to get rough and he was beginning to lose some colour in his tail.

I then set up a hospital tank for him, purely to separate him from the others, not because he had any damage to his body, with the idea that when I got on top of the ammonia issue in the main tank I would add more guppies and try to spread the hierarchy out a bit and then successfully re-add him.