Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/forum.php)
-   Beginner Freshwater Aquarium (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/)
-   -   Can I use fluidised bed reactor for additional filtering? (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/can-i-use-fluidised-bed-reactor-16257/)

ojdewet 07-15-2008 07:45 AM

Can I use fluidised bed reactor for additional filtering?
 
I used to have a marine fishtank but due to work requirements I travelled a lot so I gave up my hobby for a while.

I have started a fishtank again but have opted for freshwater (55 gallon tank, well planted with external canister filter that cycles my entire tank about 5 times per hour). I want to recreate the Amazon ecosystem that discus thrive in (and ultimately breed in) so water quality is of the utmost importance.

With my current filter my nitrates are zero but I want to increase the filter capacity of my tank even more. I have an old phosphate reactor - can I put silica sand in and run a fluidised bed in my freshwater aquarium for additional filtering capacity? How much additional benefit will a set-up like this give and how regularly would you have to clean and maintain this set-up? For obvious reasons I do not want to disturb the bed on a regular basis to ensure the bacteria is not disturbed.

Any advice will be appreciated.

Kind regards
OJ


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:05 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2016 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2016 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome