Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Invertebrates (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/invertebrates/)
-   -   I just bought a ivory mystery snail today... (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/invertebrates/i-just-bought-ivory-mystery-snail-16123/)

wen4003 07-09-2008 08:41 PM

I just bought a ivory mystery snail today...

I'm looking to find out the best types of food to feed it. Any suggestions? Thanks for your help.

Wen

jeaninel 07-09-2008 11:06 PM

When I had mine I fed them zucchini, cucumber, romaine lettuce, algae wafers and occasionally I threw in a calcium pill to keep their shell healthy. They'll also scavenge the bottom for any leftover fish food and algae.

wen4003 07-10-2008 11:04 AM

I'm a novice a this, so please excuse my ignorance at this next question. After slicing the vegetables, did you cut them into smaller pieces to make it easier for the snail and/or other fish to them?

Thanks for your help.

Wen

jeaninel 07-10-2008 11:24 AM

No, I just left it in a round slice. But I did put it in a cup of water and microwave for about 30 seconds to soften it up. I use a veggie clip which you can get at the fish store. It has a suction cup on it so you can clip the veggies to it and stick in on the inside of your aquarium near the bottom of the tank. Or you can use a weight on it to make it sink. Take any leftovers out of the tank after about 12 hours so it doesn't foul your water.

wen4003 07-10-2008 09:27 PM

Thanks for your time, you've been a great help with this!! :D

Wen

wen4003 07-18-2008 08:08 PM

not eating food suggestions