Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Characins (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/characins/)
-   -   Silvertip Tetras Dying (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/characins/silvertip-tetras-dying-150961/)

kkomadina 04-11-2013 06:13 PM

Silvertip Tetras Dying

So I am new to aquariums. Here are my tank specs: 65 Gallon, Planted (anubias, amazon sword, java fern, cryptocoryne wendtii, and corkscrew val) NH3 0, Nitrite and nitrate 0, pH 8.2, GH 180 KH 240 ppm.

Fish: 3 spotted corys, 2 angels small, 4 platies, now 6 silvertips.

My silvertips started dying about a week to 10 days after I got them. Started with 8 lost 3 in about a week, bout 4 more and now down to 6 again, no white spots until 3 days ago, found one spot on one tetra. Started treatement with APs quick cure on day two of that. But this is about 3 weeks into the deaths. What do you think, water hardness? This forum said silvertips could tolerate hard water. Was it Ich all along. The other fish, including the angels, are all fine. Looking for guidance. Should I give up on tetras of any type. What would be a good replacement?

Snappyarcher 04-12-2013 05:40 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by kkomadina (Post 1723185)
So I am new to aquariums. Here are my tank specs: 65 Gallon, Planted (anubias, amazon sword, java fern, cryptocoryne wendtii, and corkscrew val) NH3 0, Nitrite and nitrate 0, pH 8.2, GH 180 KH 240 ppm.

Fish: 3 spotted corys, 2 angels small, 4 platies, now 6 silvertips.