Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Freshwater Aquarium Equipment (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/freshwater-aquarium-equipment/)
-   -   Layered filtration with sandy substrate? (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/freshwater-aquarium-equipment/layered-filtration-sandy-substrate-14859/)

mattmartindrift 05-21-2008 02:38 PM

Layered filtration with sandy substrate?
 
After multiple hours of searching, reading, thinking and such; I really like the idea of layered filtration combined with other filtration forms.

However, I have a 29g setup with a combined silica sand, flourite, and top soil substrate. Would it be possible, or has anyone run this style of filtration with sand? I would think that the upward flow would just create chanels of water flow instead of a smooth diffusion of water flow over the bed of sand.

I also plan to have some kuhlii loaches that like to burrow. Any chance that the upward flow created would bother them?

herefishy 05-21-2008 08:21 PM

Sand, especially finer sand, plugs the ugf. Sand does not lend itself to undergravel filtration at all, whether in normal configuration or reverse flow.

mattmartindrift 05-21-2008 08:50 PM

ah, bummer, maybe I can find a fine mesh that can be affixed under the sand. I'll research some. Polyethylene or other plastic meshes that don't degrade under water.

herefishy 05-24-2008 03:33 AM

If you are trying to create a biotope that is condusive to loaches, try using a finer gravel such as EcoComplete for Planted tanks. I'm not saying to use that specific substrate, just one that is of similar consistency and texture.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:09 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2